Book Arts

ABC – artists’ books club

ABC is a cross-disciplinary forum for makers of artists’ books and ephemera, founded by MA alumna Lilla Duignan in 2009 for students and interested parties based at Bower Ashton. It provides an opportunity to get together for critical and constructive dialogue, to contextualise work, explore ideas and to develop creative practice and theory. ABC meets and works as a group towards exhibitions, projects and participation in regional and national artist’s book fairs and events.

“The perfect space in which mystery meets matter and conjoins, is for me the book”

Allil Enna Nangi-Ud

ABC coordinators for the academic year 2019-2020 are Csilla Biro, Sarah Bradicich and Gin Saunders:

Csilla works on serial artists’ publications with a focus on conceptual art and image-text relationships.

Sarah works with screen printing, relief and book arts to explore intersections within consumerism and oversaturated media.

Gin is a multi-disciplinary maker, collaborator and visual storyteller.

Timetable of meetings 2019-2020

Thursday 17th October 2019
12:30 – 13:30 Library study area
Introduction to ABC, come along, pay your membership for the year (£5). We will also have a butterfly fold demo.

Thursday 31st October 2019
12:00 – 13:00 Library special collections area
Talk by visiting poet / artist Leonard McDermid – artists’ books, show and tell and reading, a public event, open to all. Note 12 midday start time.

Thursday 14th November 2019
12:30 – 13:30 Library study area
ALL THESE BOOKS ARE A LOAD OF RUBBISH: A speed book build session in the library to create a collection of small books made from rubbish and found resources.
Also today, an artist’s book related experiment in the evening at Arnolfini bookshop, 6.30pm all welcome.

Thursday 12th December 2019
10:00 – 15:00 Room 2B6
Rubber Stamp Archive zine making day with artist Stephen Fowler, drop in,10.00-3.00, Room 2B6.

Thursday 16th January 2020
12:30 – 13:300 Meet in Library special collections area
An introduction to special collections with Steve Norton, followed by a show and tell of ABC’s exquisite corpse books introduced by Alyn Smith.

Thursday 20th February 2020
12:30 – 13:30 Library study area
John Coe of Pressing Matters magazine, visiting speaker.

Thursday 19th March 2020
12:30 – 14:30 Room OC43 (textiles)
Sarah Bradicich leads a Paper Marbling workshop, drop in from 12.30, ends at 2.30.

Thursday 2nd April 2020
12:30 – 13:30 Library study area
Susannah Sendall leads a Flag Book making workshop.

Thursday 14th May 2020
12:30 – 13:30 Canteen open study area
Last ABC meeting of the year, to include a mini book fair! Bring along your own books to show /sell or showcase your collection of books, or both!

ABC coordinators by academic year

2018 – 2019 Csilla Biro and Alyn Smith
2017 – 2018 Gen Harrison and Cathey Webb
2016 – 2017 Leonie Bradley and Catherine Cartwright
2015 – 2016 Kate Bernstein and Kate Williamson
2014 – 2015 Stephanie Turnbull
2013 – 2014 Helen Thomas and Bernard Fairhurst
2012 – 2013 Christiane Gruenewald and Sarah Rhys
2011 – 2012 Alice Drake
2010 – 2011 Angie Butler and Lilla Duignan
2009 – 2010 Founder: Lilla Duignan

ABC archive of events from 2009 to present